Prof. Hél?ne Carr?re d’Encausse

Mr. Ariel David

Ms. Aurélie Filippetti

Dr. Robert C. Gallo

Prof. Hanna Holborn Gray

Prof. Joshua Jortner

Dr. Henry A. Kissinger

Prof. Joseph Klafter

Prof. Jean-Marie Lehn

Prof. Itamar Rabinovich

Mr. Emmanuel Roman

Mr. Francis Wahl
The Dan David Prize Announces 2013 Laureates
Prof. Sir Geoffrey Lloyd
Past dimension - Classics, The Modern Legacy of the Ancient World
Prof. Michel Serres     •     Mr. Leon Wieseltier
Present dimension - Ideas, Public Intellectuals and Contemporary Philosophers
Prof. Esther Duflo     •     Dr. Alfred Sommer
Future dimension - Preventive Medicine

Tel Aviv (February 12, 2013) — The international Dan David Prize announced its distinguished laureates for 2013 today. Three prizes of US$1 million each are awarded annually for outstanding achievement in chosen fields within the three Time Dimensions - Past, Present and Future.
The Dan David Prize, named after international businessman and philanthropist Dan David, is headquartered at Tel Aviv University. The award ceremony will be held at the university on June 9, 2013.

“The constellation of laureates is particularly meaningful at this time,” stated Prof. Joseph Klafter, President of Tel Aviv University and Chairman of the Dan David Prize Board, on the announcement of the 2013 winners. “Our laureates have illuminated the roots of western civilization today and have continued in the tradition of the great classic thinkers to call for social justice, harmony with nature, and the prevention of disease.”

The 2013 Dan David Prize laureates, in the Past, Present and Future Time Dimensions are:
Past dimension -  “Classics, The Modern Legacy of the Ancient World”
Prof. Sir Geoffrey Lloyd of the Needham Research Institute and the University of Cambridge, for his work on the subject of Greek science as a major field in the history of classical philosophy and has illuminated the roots of modern science.
Present dimension – “Ideas, Public Intellectuals and Contemporary Philosophers”
Prof. Michel Serres of Stanford University and Université de Paris, one of the most important modern French philosophers, for his intimate knowledge of the western tradition in philosophy and science and for his discussion of a vast range of current questions.

Mr. Leon Wieseltier, noted American intellectual, philosopher and Literary Editor of The New Republic, a foremost writer and thinker who confronts and engages with the central issues of our times, setting the standard for serious cultural discussion in the United States.

Future dimension – “Preventive Medicine”
Prof. Esther Duflo of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology is a noted economist for her work on social conditions and strategies related to the alleviation of poverty, which deals directly with prevention of disease. Most recently she has been appointed by President Obama as a member of the President’s Global Development Council.
Dr. Alfred Sommer of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health for his unexpected and striking discovery in demonstrating that vitamin A has the power to save children’s lives.
The Dan David Prize is unique in that its laureates donate 10 per cent of their prize money to graduate students in their respective fields, thereby contributing to the community and fostering a new generation of scholars.
Previous Dan David Prize laureates include former US Vice President Al Gore (2008), former British Prime Minister Tony Blair (2009), cellist Yo-Yo Ma (2006) and filmmakers Joel and Ethan Coen (2011).

For the video announcement of the Dan David Prize by Prof. Joseph Klafter and Prof. Itamar Rabinovich, please click here.

For any media enquiries and images, please contact:
Jacob Peres Office +972(0)7224 19003
Maja Martin
+972 (0)52 5854841
Sigal Hertshten
+972(0)54 4751213

Editor’s note
The Dan David Prize, founded in 2002, is a joint international enterprise, endowed by the Dan David Foundation and headquartered at Tel Aviv University.
The Dan David Prize recognizes and encourages innovative and interdisciplinary research that cuts across traditional boundaries and paradigms. It aims to foster universal values of excellence, creativity, justice, democracy and progress and to promote the scientific, technological and humanistic achievements that advance and improve our world.
Tel Aviv University, POB 39040, Ramat Aviv, Tel Aviv 69978, Israel. Tel:+972-3-6406614, Fax:+972-3-6406613, Email:,